City Council

City of Hastings Leadership

city council stands by DaisThe Mayor and City Council members are elected to make decisions on behalf of Hastings' 22,000+ residents. They adopt and oversee the City's annual budget and set the annual property tax levy as one of the funding sources for the budget. The Mayor and Council also are responsible for policy decisions ranging from land use and subdivision applications to program development and awards of contracts.

The City of Hastings is divided into four wards. A Council Member is elected to represent each ward, with two At Large members and the Mayor representing the entire community. Each member of the City Council is elected to an alternating four year term. Members are also appointed by the Mayor to Council committees to address specific issues that need extra attention.   

Hastings operates with the Council-Administrator form of government. In this format, the City Administrator is responsible for carrying out the directions of the Council majority. In this way, the Mayor and Council can focus on "big picture" issues while they oversee the Administrator who manages the day-to-day operations of the City.

Council Meetings

The Hastings City Council meets in regular session to conduct City business on the first and third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Agendas for the City Council meetings are available here.

Council Rules of Procedure and Decorum

The City Council is dedicated to respectful and professional communication and interaction with each other, City staff, and the public. To that end, we have adopted a set of Norms that define the expectations we've set for ourselves and have committed to both follow and hold each other accountable. In April of 2018, the city council adopted these Rules of Procedure and Decorum.

CORE Values

The City has also adopted a set of CORE Values to articulate our commitment to providing high quality services to our citizens, visitors and each other.



Mayor Mary photo

A lifelong resident of the Hastings community, Hastings Mayor Mary Fasbender has devoted her life to serving the public in multiple ways - as a private business owner, community volunteer, city commission member, and elected official.

Starting her own business at the age of 23, Mayor Fasbender has owned and operated MDK Design for Hair for more than 36 years in a variety of locations in Hastings. Prior to being elected Mayor of Hastings in 2018, she served as a member of the Hastings Comprehensive Plan Committee, Hastings Public Safety Commission, and the Hastings Charter Commission.

Mayor Fasbender and co-chair Jay Kochendorfer founded the annual Thanksgiving Day Gobble Gait 2K and 8K event in 1998 to raise money for Hastings Family Service. Now in its 21st year, Gobble Gait has raised $1.3 million for the charity.

The Mayor’s community volunteer work also includes leading the St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church fundraising committee, Hastings Chamber of Commerce, Rivertown Days, Hastings Downtown Business Association, Hastings Area Rotary Club, Hastings High School Class of 1977 Reunion Committee, Meals on Wheels, and the Mayo Clinic hospice pet therapy team.

As Hastings Mayor, her mission is to involve all residents and local business owners in a common cause - to promote and grow all aspects of the Hastings community to its fullest potential.

Mayor Fasbender will hold office hours at City Hall on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays. Check the city Events calendar for an updated schedule of office hours. She can be reached directly at 651-587-4867 or via email at:


City Council Members

Tina Folch, Ward 1 

Ward 1:  Tina Folch 

Contact Information:

Elected: 2016
Current term expires: December 31, 2020

Joe web ready 2.15 

Ward 2:  Joe Balsanek, acting mayor

Contact Information:

Elected: 2008, 2012, 2016
Current term expires: December 31, 2020

Lisa Leifeld, Ward 3 

Ward 3:  Lisa Leifeld

Contact Information:

Elected: 2016
Current term expires:  December 31, 2020

Trevor Lund, Ward 4 

Ward 4:  Trevor Lund                 

Contact Information:

Elected: 2016
Current term expires: December 31, 2020

Lori B web ready 2.15

At Large:  Lori L. Braucks

Contact Information:

Elected: 2014, 2018
Current term expires: December 31, 2022

Mark V web ready 2.15 

At Large:  Mark Vaughan

Contact Information:

Elected: 2014, 2018
Current term expires: December 31, 2022